Friday, December 14, 2018
Trending News National Politics Entertainment Life Style Health Sports States Your Story More

Gorakhpur Bypoll Elections 2018 : Updates & FAQs

Yogi Adityanath’s Uttar Pradesh is going to witness mini battles in Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats as all the major parties are gearing up for Lok Sabha elections next year. No doubt, bypoll results of Gorakhpur constituency holds paramount importance from both state and national perspective.

Gorakhpur seat has been vacated by CM Yogi Adityanath. It was only in last year that BJP witnessed a landslide victory in the state, winning 325 of 403 seats. BJP is certainly hoping to sail through the elections and bitter rivals SP and BSP have decided to come together for the first time in 25 years to topple the dream run of the saffron outfit.

The by-election will be held on March 11 and results will be declared on March 14.

The Gorakhpur Bypolls will be a three party affair where Upendra Shukla from BJP, Praveen Nishad from SP and Surhita Chatterjee Karim from Congress will be fighting to win the laurels. Anyhow, Gorakhpur will be witnessing a non-Thakur candidate to win for the first time in 30 years.